top of page

Five Reiki Principles

The Five Reiki Principles are the basic guidelines for Reiki practitioners, but they apply to everyone in any life situation. They were developed by Dr. Usui, the founder of Usui reiki, the first official reiki healing lineage.


These Principles are so simple, but they hold powerful wisdom. They are:


Just for today, I will not be angry.

Just for today, I will not worry.

Just for today, I will be grateful.

Just for today, I will do my work honestly.

Just for today, I will be kind to every living thing.


What I love about these Principles is how manageable they are. The repetition of “Just for today” has so much kindness in it. I can manage to try not worry just for today, whereas if I told myself “I will never worry again for the rest of my life,” that seems very unachievable. (Not worrying just for today is already enough of a challenge!).


The five Principles also remind us that there is a time where we just need to let go of unproductive emotions. Yes, anger is an important feeling to acknowledged and understood, and it can have a transformative power in our lives. I am not suggesting we suppress our anger. But when the storms pass, it’s time to let it go and move into healing action.


These Principles reorient me to what is true, simple, and do-able. I feel such a sense of relaxation go through me when I read these words – they convey the essence of reiki energy, which to me is profound kindness. Kindness is not being “nice,” mind you. It is not a superficial attitude. Kindness does not mean being a people-pleaser. Kindness is accepting ourselves and others, befriending our difficult emotions, and extending love from an expanded heart field that protects and grounds us.



7 views0 comments


bottom of page